cardamom maple scones

It’s chilly and raining, and I’m bundled up. I’m also sunburnt. It’s a strange feeling. (It’s also the definition of a first world problem, according to Brian. Haha.)

To alleviate my malady, I decided to bring out a recipe that I tweaked into perfection during my final semester of college. Cardamom Maple Scones! They are delicious, whole wheat, and vegan if you use fake butter.

IMG_1839

They have a silent star ingredient: the soft, old apple from the bottom of the fruit bowl.

IMG_1813

First mix the dry ingredients, then add your chunks of butter. Cut the butter chunks into the dough so that it resembles fine sand. I know the first time I read that directive, it freaked me out. Don’t worry, it’s not difficult. Just don’t give into the temptation to mix it with your hands. We don’t want the butter to melt.

IMG_1823  IMG_1825

When it’s ready, turn it out into two disks. I cut one into breakfast sized scones and the other into snack/dessert sized.

IMG_1827

Perfect with Equal Exchange Vanilla Roobios Tea! These scones are delightful. They are fluffy, melt in your mouth, not too crisp but definitely not cakey, cardamom flavored (my favorite), and wonderful. Even with the small amount of sugar and zero egg!

IMG_1837

Cardamom Maple Scones

1/4 cup real maple syrup
6 tablespoons almond milk
1 regular apple, shredded
2 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1 1/2 tablespoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1 teaspoon cardamom
Dash pumpkin pie spice mix
11 tablespoons unsalted butter

For the tops:
1 tbsp vegan butter or coconut oil, melted
1 tbsp maple syrup

Preheat the oven to 400F degrees, or 375 if you have a hot oven like me. Line your baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine the flour, oats, baking powder, cardamom and salt together in a bowl. Cut the butter into the dry ingredients until it looks like a sandy, Florida beach (I wish). Now add the maple syrup, milk and shredded apple. Mix until you have a shaggy dough, just held together. Not wet, but not falling apart completely.

Turn out the dough into two rounds. You can also experiment with other shapes, but I like the triangles. Cut the rounds into four, six or eight triangles – personal preference. Place the scones about 1/2 inch apart on the baking sheet. Use a brush or your fingers to put the maple syrup and melted oil/butter on top (I suggest fingers, because it’s really tasty). Bake for 20 minutes, or until golden brown. Eat!

Leave a Reply

