za’atar bruschetta

I know they aren’t in season. Trust me, I know. Working on a farm, I am acutely aware of what isn’t in season – because it is most things. We have greens, some spring garlic, and I have a ridiculous sunburn on my lower back from planting onions. But winter here lingered for a long time, and there simply isn’t much to eat. So when I saw these red, organic cherry tomatoes (at a CIW approved store!), I could not resist their charms. I needed a reminder that eventually there will be more!

za'atar bruschetta

I am fortunate enough to live near a multiple-time James Beard nominated bread bakery, despite not living in a city. I had spelt from The Hungry Ghost – toasted and drizzled with olive oil. Next, a generous pour of za’atar. I chopped up the cherry tomatoes while the bread was toasting so that I could drop them on while the bread was hot. Then, I tied it all together with some sea salt. Simple lunch, especially with some cheese!

forsythia and bread

Beautiful food and flowers! A summer meal for a cold spring.

Leave a Reply

